Skip to product information
  • Silvia Tarozzi & Deborah Walker - Canti di guerra, di lavoro e d‘amore - Unseen Worlds
  • Silvia Tarozzi & Deborah Walker - Canti di guerra, di lavoro e d‘amore - Unseen Worlds
1 of 2

Silvia Tarozzi & Deborah Walker
Canti di guerra, di lavoro e d‘amore

Regular price
$10.00 USD
Regular price
Sale price
$10.00 USD

Release date:

• Instant Bandcamp download code

Silvia Tarozzi and Deborah Walker have emerged as one of the most interesting duos in contemporary improvised music. First introduced to Unseen Worlds through their performance on the Philip Corner recording Extreemizms: early & late, Tarozzi and Walker elevated recent recordings, Eliane Radigue Occam Ocean 3, Pascal Criton Infra, and Tarozzi’s own Mi specchio e rifletto to greatness. Their finely tuned sound makes even the most adventurous tones compelling.

With Canti di guerra, di lavoro e d‘amore the duo add folk music to their contemporary classical and improvised music roots, reinterpreting songs from their youth in rural Emilia that originated from the emancipation of working class women and the partisan Resistance in World War II, especially ones sung by choirs of female rice field workers, called Mondine or Mondariso. Their songs tell a story of hard, poorly paid work, love, the hypocrisy of society, protests, war, the challenge of working far from home, the violence of oppression and the need for political awareness. Following years of incorporating, reinventing, and transforming these songs within their practice, Tarozzi and Walker unlock emotional territory where their relationship with Emilia resonates in concert with other sounds and places.


Wire Magazine, June 2022
“Field of Dreams”, Full Page Feature by Peter Margasak

“In their various shared projects cellist Deborah Walker and violinist Silvia Tarozzi have become two of contemporary music's most impressive and rigorous string players, boldly erasing boundaries between notated music and improvisation”

Track List


    1. Country cloud (3:33)
    2. La lega (Featuring Coro delle Mondine di Bentivoglio) (2:29)
    3. Pietà l‘è morta (5:02)
    4. Parziale (2:29)
    5. Il bersagliere ha cento penne (3:19)
    6. Il bersagliere ha cento penne (Featuring Ola Obasi Nnanna) (4:29)
    7. Meccanica primitiva (4:19)
    8. Dondina (6:03)
    9. La campéna ed San Simòn - Ignoranti senza scuole (8:33)
    10. Fa la nana (4:34)
    11. Tita (3:12)
    12. Sentite buona gente (5:05)


    Silvia Tarozzi – violin, voice, bicycle bells
    Deborah Walker – cello, voice, bicycle bells
    Ola Obasi Nnanna – voice on track 6
    Andrea Rovacchi – mbira on track 6

    Artwork by Sun Pal: Lina Müller and Luca Schenardi

    Thanks to: Our dear sister in music Ola Obasi Nnanna, Nigerian gospel singer, for her wonderful participation in this album. The Coro delle Mondine di Bentivoglio, for their support and gracious concession of the track “La Lega“, from their record “Con l’acqua alle ginocchia“ (Black Fading Records 2010). Andrea Rovacchi for his creative contribution while recording and mixing this album. Agnese Toniutti and Salotto Musicale del Friuli Venezia-Giulia, Claudio Rastelli and Amici della Musica di Modena, Eamonn Quinn and Louth Music Society in Dundalk, Alex Bruck and Casa del Lago in Ciutad de Mexico, Roberto Fabbi and Festival Aperto in Reggio Emilia, for hosting performances of Canti di guerra, di lavoro e d’amore, making it possible to this music to grow.

    All the financiers of this recording project, for their amazing generosity: Ritaronne, Daniel and Renata, Rolando Gualerzi, Silva Marconi, Thierry Madiot, Sébastien Roux, Sandra Giura Longo, Chris Cutler, Maya Bongrand, Vincent Vedovelli, Yasoda Corleone, Lucia Biolchini, Martin Arnold, Laura Gilbert, Mauro Bertani, Scott Krafft, Greta Melcher, Émilie Girard-Charest, Paola Ligabue, Bernard Astié, Tim Parkinson, Silvia Donati, Fabrice Villard, Claudio Galli, Alessandro Ringressi, Nadia Nadalini, Nara Nadalini, Agnès Vesterman, Patrick Javault, Pascale Criton and two generous anonymous.

    Recorded at Sonic Temple Studio in Parma, Italy, by Andrea Rovacchi
    between September 28th and October 1st 2020. Mixed by Andrea Rovacchi, Silvia Tarozzi and Deborah Walker between March and April 2021. Mastered by Andrea Rovacchi in October 2021.

    © 2022 Unseen Worlds